Curriculum Overview

The National Curriculum is divided into two groups: Core Subjects – English, Maths and Science Foundation Subjects – Art and Design, Computing, Design and Technology, Languages, Geography, History, Music and Physical Education. In addition we teach Religious Education and Personal, Social and Health Education. Each class follows a timetabled day with the mornings usually concentrating …

Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is followed from Pre-school right the way through to the end of the Reception year, and is based on the following areas of learning: 3 Prime areas of learning enable children to be curious, enthusiastic, form relationships and build capacity to learn. Communication and Language Physical Development Personal, Social and Emotional …


The school follows the National Curriculum for English which aims to raise standards of reading, writing and the spoken language for all children. We also follow a structured programme of phonics called ‘Letters and Sounds’ and include Guided reading to teach reading techniques. A typical English lesson involves, discussion, reading and writing for the whole …



Art & Design


Design & Technology





Physical Education


Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE) PSHE is a timetabled subject throughout the school and follows the Jigsaw programme. Jigsaw brings together PSHE Education, emotional literacy, mindfulness, social skills and spiritual development. A variety of teaching strategies are used and are mindful of each child’s preferred learning style. Jigsaw is designed as a whole school …

Religious Education

Teaching British Values

In 2014 the DfE outlined the need “to create and enforce a clear and rigorous expectation on all schools to promote the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs.” The Government set out its definition of British values in …